Get premium membership and access revision papers with marking schemes, video lessons and live classes.
Processing. Please wait.

 Form 3 History and Government Lessons on Colonial Administration

The french administration in senegal

 (5m 26s)
2267 Views     SHARE

Download as pdf file

Answer Text:
The French administration in Senegal.
In Senegal, the policy of assimilation was only applied in the four communes of St.Louis, Goree, Rufisque and Dakar. In the rest of the country, African chiefs who ruled were put in three grades namely;
a) Chefs de province: - equivalent of the paramount chiefs, they were usually successors of the pre-colonial chiefs.
b) Chefs de Canton: - these were ordinary people appointed by the French officials due to their ability, to be charge of locations.
c) Chefs de village:- these were usually traditional heads of the community(village) who were given the responsibility of collecting taxes, maintenance of law and order.etc.