Get premium membership and access revision papers with marking schemes, video lessons and live classes.
Processing. Please wait.

 Form 4 Geography online lessons on trade

The objectives and achievements of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

 (6m 27s)
205 Views     SHARE

Download as pdf file

Answer Text:
The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).
- Was established in 1976 by the treaty of Lagos.
- It has headquarters in Lagos Nigeria.
- It has 15 member states e.g. Nigeria, Liberia, Ghana, Benin, Guinea, Sierra Leone, etc.
Objectives of ECOWAS.
(a) Promote mutual trade by eliminating trade restrictions among members.
(b) Create a monetary union.
(c) Impose tariffs for imports from non-member countries.
(d) Give special treatment to goods imported from member states.
(e) Promote free movement of people to and from member countries by eliminating visas.
Achievements of ECOWAS.
(a) Brought peace to troubled countries like Liberia and Sierra Leone.
(b) Promotion of trade in the region through the peace achieved.
(c) Development of schools to train people on peace keeping e.g. The National War College.
(d) Free movement of goods among member states.