Get premium membership and access revision papers with marking schemes, video lessons and live classes.
Processing. Please wait.

 Form 4 Geography online lessons on trade

The Objectives of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa(COMESA)

 (5m 3s)
257 Views     SHARE

Download as pdf file

Answer Text:
The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).
- It was established in 1994 to replace Preferential Trade Area (P.T.A.).
- It has 22 member states e.g. Kenya, Uganda,
Ethiopia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Namibia, etc.
Objectives of COMESA
(a) To reduce and eliminate trade barriers on selected commodities to be traded with member states.
(b) Abolish restrictions in administration of trade among member countries.
(c) Fostering relations, peace and political stability for member states.
(d) Raise the standard of living within member states.
(e) Promote goods being produced in the member states.
(f) Establish and foster co-operation in all fields of economic activity.