Get premium membership and access revision papers with marking schemes, video lessons and live classes.
Processing. Please wait.

 Form 4 Geography online lessons on trade

The objectives and achievements of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

 (7m 43s)
266 Views     SHARE

Download as pdf file

Answer Text:
The Southern African Development Community (SADC).
 It started as Southern African Development coordination in 1980 in Lusaka Zambia and transformed into SADC after collapse of apartheid.
 It has 14 member states e.g. Tanzania, DRC, S.
Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, etc.
Objectives of SADC.
(a) Encourage self-reliance among member states in the face of instability posed by apartheid regime of S. Africa.
(b) Promote and defend peace and security.
(c) Promote regional integration.
(d) Eradicate poverty.
(e) Facilitate trade and economic liberalization.
(f) Promote self-sustaining development on the basis of interdependence on member states.
(g) Promote and maximize utilization of natural resources and effective protection of environment.
Achievements of SADC.:
(a) Promotion of regional industries based on domestic and regional raw materials.
(b) Reliability and development of regional transport and communication infrastructure.