Get premium membership and access revision papers with marking schemes, video lessons and live classes.
Processing. Please wait.

 Social, Economic and Political Organization of African societies upto 19th C

The Political organization of the Baganda.

 (4m 6s)
1769 Views     SHARE

Download as pdf file

Answer Text:
The Political organization of the Baganda.
-The kingdom was divided into counties (Ssaza) and sub-counties. Each county was under Ssaza chiefs whose position was hereditary initially before the kabaka began to appoint them as a means of making them accountable.Each Ssaza was divided into a gombolola headed by a gombolola chief, who
maintained law and order and collected taxes.
-The gombololas were further divided into smaller sub-divisions called miluka each under a miluka chief.
-The miluka was divided into kisoko.
-The smallest administrative unit among the Baganda was the village council The Abatongole appointed by the
kabaka, governed the vassal states